Press Releases

22. 5. 2008 10:56

May 22, 2008: Topolánek: Czech Republic Will Co-Participate in Deciding on the Role of New Political Posts in the Council of the European Union

The Premiers of the Visegard Group countries, the Baltic states, President of the European Commission José Manuel Barroso and the Slovenian Premier, the acting chairman of the Council of the European Union, today met in Prague’s Hrzánský Palace for their joint session. “We have discussed such topics as energy security, diversification of energy sources, and the issue of unbundling. We have also focused on the question of ratification and implementation of the Lisbon Treaty, which is particularly important for us since it will be during our presidency of the Council of the European Union that the functioning of the new political functions, such as the permanent chairman or the role of the head of the executive of rotating presidency, shall be defined,“ says Czech Premier Mirek Topolánek on today’s meeting.

The Czech Republic believes that the distribution of high-ranking posts should reflect a balance of the geographic, political, power and socio-economic interests in the European Union. The new members states should also be represented in the new structure of high executive posts. Representatives of the individual countries meeting in Prague also discussed Europe’s neighbourhood policy, primarily its eastern dimension, concentrating on the countries of Eastern Europe with an accent laid on Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, on the possibilities of cooperation with GUAM grouping, eventually with Moldova and the Western Balkans.

This multilateral gathering was held on the occasion of the second session of the European Nuclear Forum and the official visit to the Czech Republic by the President of the European Commission José Manuel Barroso. In addition to Czech Premier Mirek Topolánek, the talks were attended by Premiers Andrus Ansip of the Republic of Estonia, Gediminias Kirkilas of the Republic of Lithuania, Ivars Godmanis of the Republic of Latvia, Ferenc Gyurcsány of Hungary, Robert Fico of Slovakia, Janez Janša of Slovenia, and Poland’s Deputy Premier and Economics Minster responsible for energy Waldemar Pawlak.

print article   email   facebook   twitter