Press Advisories

13. 12. 2017 20:12

The President Miloš Zeman appointed the government of premier Andrej Babiš

On Wednesday, 13 December 2017, the President of the Czech Republic Miloš Zeman appointed members of the new government at the Prague Castle. Before their appointment, the government honoured the memory of President Masaryk in Lány. After the appointment, the new Cabinet headed to Straka Academy for its first meeting.

Before their appointment, the members of the new Cabinet of premier Andrej Babiš honoured the memory of President Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk by laying wreaths at his tomb in Lány.

After the pious act, the members of the government left for the Throne Hall of the Prague Castle, where they swore in and received their letters of appointment from the President Miloš Zeman. The act was witnessed by the Chairman of the Chamber of Deputies of the Parliament of the Czech Republic Karel Vondráček.

Subsequently, the appointed members of the government continued to Straka Academy for their first meeting.

List of ministers of the new government:

  • Richard Brabec, deputy premier and minister of the environment
  • Martin Stropnický, deputy premier and minister of foreign affairs
  • Karla Šlechtová, minister of defence
  • Lubomír Metnar, minister of the interior
  • Alena Schillerová, minister of finance
  • Tomáš Hüner, minister of industry and trade
  • Robert Pelikán, minister of justice
  • Jaroslava Němcová, minister of labour and social affairs
  • Dan Ťok, minister of transport
  • Jiří Milek, minister of agriculture
  • Adam Vojtěch, minister of health
  • Robert Plaga, minister of education, youth and sports
  • Klára Dostálová, minister for regional development
  • Ilja Šmíd, minister of culture  

print article   email   facebook   twitter

Photo gallery

Related items